Cris in Ethiopia

Menagesha-Suba

Posted by Cris on April 26, 2007

This last weekend we went camping with the Hash House Harriers group, in a forest preserve/ national park-type area about an hour outside Addis. The forest was beautiful (see photos) and reminded me a lot of the Northwest, with all the giant conifers. The only difference was the colobus monkeys, bushpigs, bushbuck and parrots, and above all the loud baboons which also graced us with their presence. It was relaxinbg to breathe fresh air for a few days, sleep in a tent, drink lots of…. “water”, and be away from the city.
Hash is a great group, but I must admit it makes me feel old. I cant get over the fact that its a total social club- we meet every week to do specific things, most of which involve a rented bus. I feel a bit like a senior citizen already- meeting my friends and taking a bus to the ice cream shop or something. Its fun, but makes me laugh. I also still find it a bit odd to have friends and peers in the group who are 10, 20, or even 30 years older than me. Theyre cool and all good people, but I sometimes cant stop thinking about how the guy who just made the sex joke and who is drunk off beer at 430 pm is older than my parents.

6 Responses to “Menagesha-Suba”

  1. Rob said

    Life can be measured by the company you keep.
    You are only as old as you feel.

    Someone has to pass down stories and culture and if generations don’t mix this won’t happen. Think of it the other way around, maybe you are making them feel young! And you help keep the average age on the young side of the hill!

    Still it sounds like a great group of people. The name though has some different connotations 🙂 I’m glad to hear that you are keeping well hydrated!

  2. Aunt Shannon said

    Soon we will be sending clothes with your names on them like we do for the older folks

  3. AD said

    It sounds beautiful! As for the differences, embrace them and the moment. xoxo

  4. PiterJankovich said

    My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

  5. CHERU MENGISTU said

    REALLY I AM VERY AMAZING BY THE WAY I LIVE AROUND THAT AREA .WHEN WAS YOU CAME AGAIN IN THAT AREA IF YOU CAME AGAIN I WILL GIVE YOU MORE GUIDE ABOUT THE DESTINETION.

  6. abel said

    wooooooooooooooooooooooooow amezing area

Leave a Reply

 
